Skip to main content
Framed Pictures, Canvas Prints
Posters & Jigsaws since 2004

Congress Gallery

Available as Framed Photos, Canvas Prints, Wall Art and Gift Items

Choose from 263 pictures in our Congress collection for your Wall Art or Photo Gift. Popular choices include Framed Photos, Canvas Prints, Posters and Jigsaw Puzzles. All professionally made for quick delivery.

Library of Congress Mural - The Occupation of the Day Featured Print

Library of Congress Mural - The Occupation of the Day

Washington DC, USA - Mural - The Occupation of the Day by Charles Sprague Pearce (1851-1914) . Found in the Library of Congress, Thomas Jefferson Building. Religion'. Worship before an altar of Fire. Charles Sprague Pearce (1851-1914) Date: 1920

© Mary Evans / Grenville Collins Postcard Collection

1920, Altar, America, American, Building, Charles, Columbia, Congress, Day, Dc, District, Famous, Fire, Historical, History, Jefferson, Library, Locations, Mural, Murals, Occupation, Ornate, Painting, Paintings, Pearce, Places, Religion, Series, Sites, Sprague, States, Symbolic, Thomas, United, Usa, Wall, Washington, Worship

The General Strike - Government leaders Featured Print

The General Strike - Government leaders

Government leaders during the General Strike: Ministers and Commissioners. 1. Chief Civil Commissioner: Sir W. Mitchell-Thomson, 2. Principal Chief Assistant Commissioner, Mr. A. B. Lowry, 3. Civil Commissioner, London and Home Counties Division: Major W. Cope, 4. Civil Commissioner, Eastern Division: Major Sir Philip Sassoon, 5. Coal-owner's representatives leaving Downing Street: (Left to right) Messrs. W. A. Lee, Evan Williams, Edward Mann, and Guthrie. 6. Civil Commissioner for the North Midland Division: Captain H. Douglas King, 7. The Members of the Coal Commission: (Left to right) Mr. Kenneth Lee, Sir William Beveridge, Sir Herbert Samuel, (Chairman) and Sir Herbert Lawrence. 8. Minister of Labour: Sir Arthur Steel Maitland. 9. Civil Commissioner, Midland Division: Lt. Col. the Hon. G.F. Stanley. 11. Civil Commissioner, North Eastern Division: Captain D. H. Hacking. 12. Parliamentary Secretary to the Department of Mines: Col. G.R. Lane-Fox, 13. Civil Commissioner, South Midland Division: Major Earl Winterton, 14. The Home Secretary: Sir William Joynson-Hicks. In support of a strike by coal miners over the issue of threatened wage cuts, the Trades Union Congress called a General Strike in early May 1926. The strike only involved certain key industrial sectors (docks, electricity, gas, railways) but, in the face of well-organised government emergency measures and lack of real public support, it collapsed after nine days

© Illustrated London News Ltd/Mary Evans

American Revolution (1765-1783). First Continental Featured Print

American Revolution (1765-1783). First Continental

United States. American Revolution (1765-1783). First Continental Congress. September 22, 1774. Philadelphia. Manifest to request the merchants of the federal colonies, not to send to Great Britain any goods, for the preservation of the liberties of America. From the Minutes. Secretary Charles Thomson. Printed by W. and T. Bradford

© Thaliastock / Mary Evans